Qualifying for election began at Noon on Monday and will end at Noon on Friday.

Some confuse qualifying with filing.

Filing is simply assigning a campaign treasury and appointing a treasurer.  The account doesn’t even have to be open.

That gives a prospective candidate the right to collect campaign donations and to advertise the candidacy.

Qualifying is what separates the men from the boys (go ahead and accuse me of being sexist!)

It’s where the candidate writes a check for the qualifying fee or has enough petitions signed and validated to qualify without paying the fee.

It’s also where the candidate sets their name on the ballot.

What’s new this year is the fact that city races will have the same qualifying dates as state and county elections.

Historically, city qualifying for November elections was held during the first week of September.

That change came from the legislature earlier this year.

Judicial races qualified in May.

Follow this link to see who’s qualified in which race.

Or just stop by Watching Broward.  I will publish daily lists of who qualified after qualifying closes for the day.

Clerk of the Court – Howard Forman (I)

Property Appraiser – Lori Parrish (I)

County Commission District 1 – Martin Kiar*

County Commission District 5 – Lois Wexler* (I)

County Commission District 7 – Charlotte Rodstrom, Tim Ryan

Supervisor of Elections – Brenda Snipes* (I)

School Board District 2 – Patricia Good* (I)

School Board District 3 – Rebecca Blackwood, Michael Levinson

School Board District 4 – Shelly Solomon

School Board District 5 – Torey Alston.

(I) = Incumbent   * = No other candidate in the race.

Cooper City Mayor – Greg Ross

Cooper City Commission District 3 – Jeff Green (I)

Margate City Commission – Le Peerman (I)

Sunrise Mayor – Michael Ryan* (I)

Sunrise  City Commission Group A – John Fusaro

Sunrise City Commission Group B – Joseph Scuotto* (I)

