The FCAT scores are out and the news is not good.

According to the data released by the Department of Education on FCAT 2.0, 49 percent of Broward 9th graders can’t read at grade level.

51 percent of 10th graders can’t read at grade level.

While the state calls that an improvement over last year’s score, I call it a disaster.

Not that I trust the FCAT, but the scores are indicative of a real problem.

FAU Lab school scored 100%, while St. Johns County schools scored 70% or 30% of their students that couldn’t read at grade level.

While even 30% is not a great number, something’s definitely out of whack in Broward Schools.

One fact that I never heard as a School Board member was that fully 80% of Broward students coming into (then) BCC needed remediation in both Math and English.

I learned that while registering my eldest daughter at the school through a conversation with the Dean of English in 2007.

That was five years ago.

The number may have changed since then, but I doubt it.

Even if the number was reduced to 60%, something is terribly wrong.

And since there was no mention inside the district, the statisticians have clearly turned a blind eye to that fact, making all of the claims of gains and improvements in student performance absolute hogwash.

The dirty little secret, so to speak.

Not that I haven’t had run ins with district statisticians as a Board member.

I have.  And there are just some things they didn’t want to know.

The School Board meets with the Board of Directors of Broward College twice a year (at least when I was a Board member.)

That should be issue number one in the next meeting.

Our students deserve better.  So do we.

