I spoke with Nick Steffens today.

We talked about the controversial flyer first published here on Apri 24th and again yesterday.

Steffens pointed out that the portion of the law I quoted did not apply to political speech, and he may very well be right.

While political speech protections are broad, misleading advertising is still just that.

The flyer “suggested” that Michelle Obama supported Steffens.

Okay, I will grant the idea that maybe a political consultant got carried away with an idea.

It happens.

Steffens told me that the Obama campaign called and requested that the flyer be removed from circulation.

He tells me that it has been removed and I take him at his word.

Political ads and fliers have the power to make or break a candidate and every possibility must be considered.

Ask one who knows…

