Broward County lost a great friend on Tuesday night.

Former Margate Commissioner and State Representative Jack Tobin has passed away.

Tobin was a fixture at Margate City Hall and a fighter for Broward in the halls of the State Legislature both during his years as a Representative and long after.

His most recent trip was only a few weeks ago.

But Jack Tobin was more than that.

Much more.

Jack was one to give back to the community in many forms.

He was a key supporter of a local charity known as the Alzheimer Family Center.

That’s where I met Jack many years ago.

I served on the Board of Directors of the organization with Jack until the illnesses that dog me would no longer permit me to expend that kind of energy.

To say that Jack was tireless is an understatement.

I think it fair to say that without Tobin’s involvement all those years, the group would not be what it is today.

I would ask that people remember Jack’s untiring efforts through a donation to the Alzheimer Family Center located at 6280 West Atlantic Blvd.  Margate, FL  33063  (954) 971-7155

